Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
2 Basic Dough Recipe!
Recipe for one 14 inch NY style pizza dough.

GramsOunces
Bread Flour (100%)
Water (58%)
Yeast (0.5%) IDY
Salt (2.5%)
Oil (2%)
Total Dough Weight with Residue  
Single Ball No Residue
Bowl Residue Specified  
2%
Number Dough Balls = 1
Pizza Size = 14 inches

Before we get into the pizza making process, I want to explain why the scales are helpful. I have been making pizza for more than 45 years. Most of that time I did not use a scale but I knew what the dough should look and feel like from my years working at pizza joints back in the 70s. You can make your pizza without the scales and I will provide volume measure for everything but I really recommend the scales. If I give five people a bag of flour and tell them all to measure out 4  3/4 cups of flour….when they are finished (if you weighed each one) they would vary quite a bit. Salt is another problem area - the courser the grind the more volume it will take up. One teaspoon of very fine salt can weigh twice as much as one teaspoon of coarse salt. That much of a difference will impact the flavor and fermentation timing of your dough significantly.

Tap or purified water  142.55 gr. (~4.8 FL oz.) - at room temperature 
Instant Dry Yeast  1.23 gr. IDY (~.4 teaspoons) - If you are using Active dry yeast (ADY) use 1.67 gr. (~.6  teaspoons)
Salt 6.14 gr. or (~ 1 1/4 teaspoon) - if measuring by volume, the recipe assumes a normal size table grind (not super fine or course).
Flour 245.78 gr. (~2 cups) - flour should be at room temperature 
Oil 4.92 gr. (~ 1 teaspoon) - optional - used as dough conditioner (improves extensibility) and will soften the crumb.

Note: For sauce and cheese information see the “making your pizza” post.